Aby Warburg's Hertziana Lecture, 1929: An "Anatomical Demonstration" of Methodology for the Study of Art

Friday, October 9 @ 3 PM
University of Colorado at Boulder
Fleming Law Building, Room 155
Campus Map
Free and open to the public

German and Slavic Languages and Literature at CU welcomes Professor Elizabeth Sears, professor of Art History and director of Graduate Studies at the University of Michigan for an examination of Aby Warburg’s famous Hertziana lecture of 1929. 

Aby Warburg (1866-1929) was an influential German art historian and cultural theorist who founded the Warburg Library of Cultural Sciences in Hamburg in the early 20th Century. Trained in the tradition of Aby Warburg, Dr. Sears has focused much of her research and teaching on the Warburgian heritage. While in residence at the American Academy in Berlin, Sears worked on a book project that focused on the influence and critical reception of Aby Warburg.

Name Sales End Price
Standard Registration Ended Free

On the Web

Art Historiography Seminar − The Burlington Magazine

... Warburg's Hertziana Lecture, 1929: An 'Anatomical Demonstration' of Methodology for the Study of Art. On 19 January 1929, Aby ... the Hertziana lecture …


Aby Warburg | Mnemosyne - Cornell University

Mnemosyne. Meanderings through Aby Warburg's Atlas. Home; About; Browse panels; Readings; Contact; Aby Warburg


De quelques peintures emblématiques d'Otto Vaenius ...

Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers.